Skip to content

Apologies For Absence

July 28, 2013

I suddenly realized, with something of a shock, that I haven’t written a blog post for some time – far too long in fact. That is not because I’ve had nothing to say. Those who know me well enough will vouch for the fact that I’m rarely at a loss for words.

The problem has been that things have been rather hectic in the Kitson household, especially where the writing sector is concerned. There are a number of background causes for the extra activity, some of which I can explain to you, others which will have to remain cloaked in secrecy until the time comes to reveal them.

One of the effects of the recent developments has been the need to revise my writing schedule radically. First of all, my in-house editor told me the sub plot to the tenth book in the Mike Nash series was too strong and merited a book on its own. She asked me to remove it and replace it with another that didn’t overshadow the main plot.  I did this, only to be told the second one was also too strong. Third time lucky, I managed a plot that she is happy with. The up-side to this is that I now have two “spare” plots I can use later in the series.

Although the publication date set by Robert Hale Ltd for the seventh in the Mike Nash series, Buried In The Past is not until March 2014, I have to bear in mind that at some stage in the near future the proofs will be ready for checking and time must be set aside for that. August should see the release in e-book format of the fourth, fifth and sixth in the series, so as I have already completed numbers eight, nine and ten, I decided to allow Mike Nash to take a holiday whilst I concentrate on other projects.

I’ve already mentioned that book three, Minds That Hate was released as an e-book in June. My new publisher for this venture is Fantastic Books Publishing. You might want to check them out, I feel sure you’ll be impressed by the scope and calibre of the titles on their list, which incorporates far more than crime thrillers. Their website is www.fantasticbookspublishing.com They did not sit back and wait for e-book sales, but instead, they contacted me to get the go-ahead for …. oops …. sorry, I can’t mention that just yet. Suffice it to say that the secret project we’ve been working on is extremely exciting and is already attracting a considerable amount of interest. I promise that as soon as I am able, I’ll let you into the secret.

Whilst I’m on the subject of e-books, I’ve been surprised and delighted by the success of my two titles written under my pen name of William Gordon that are set on a fictional Greek island. The Last Resort has reached as high as #47 in the Fictional Humour category on Amazon UK, whilst Watering The Olives has rarely been outside the top ten in its category over the past four months, often reaching #1.

With that in mind I have brought forward plans for a third book set in Greece. This will be another collection of short stories surrounding the island of Tritinos, its inhabitants and the holidaymakers who visit. The Goat In The Boat should be available to download in early 2014, all being well.

As if that wasn’t enough, I’ve also been working on another crime series, but this is also something I’m unable to say much about at the moment. What I can tell you is that the series will be called The Eden House Mysteries and will be set in the early 1980s. So far I’ve completed the first book and have plots for three more lined up and I’m already writing the first draft of book two. Again, more news as soon as I can release it.

All this means that other projects have to remain simmering, unfinished, on the back burner for the time being. Although  Byland Crescent Book Two will be available in paperback shortly, book three, Retribution and the eleventh in the Mike Nash series are in suspended animation with approximately 40,000 words written.

So there you have it, the reasons why finding time to write a blog post has been difficult. Even now, to fit this short piece into my schedule meant I sat down to compose it at 7 a.m. on Sunday morning. That leads me to my final point. Although all that I’ve written might sound like a lot of work and a chore, let me assure you that nothing could be further from the truth. That’s not how I think of it. To me, it’s a whole load of fun.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

