Skip to content

New Year, new beginnings and old favourites

January 15, 2013

This is my first post of 2013. The reason for that is twofold. For the first part, I haven’t had anything to say, and I see little point in writing simply to hear the sound of my own pen. More importantly, I’ve been a little bit busy. Here’s what I’ve been up to.

Towards the end of last year, I began to rewrite an old story that has never seen the light of day. By that, I mean that it has never ventured forth from my computer. I completed the re-write, and once it was done I decided I liked the main protagonists enough to want to write more about them.

With that in mind I began another tale featuring them on New Year’s Day, and am currently almost 30,000 words into the plot. The idea is that if it works, I will have a second series of crime novels to go alongside the Mike Nash adventures. These stories will feature a married couple, who are not connected to the police, and is to be set around the early 1980s. That in itself is a different challenge, as I must dispense with such aids to modern detection as computers / the internet, mobile phones, email, and DNA analysis. Forensic work too will be less high-tech.

I have also just completed my final read-through of RENAISSANCE, book two of the BYLAND CRESCENT saga. This sequel to REQUIEM should be available very shortly.

Having said all that, don’t get the idea that I’ve finished with Mike Nash. Quite the reverse, for, having completed the first draft of #11, that is currently in the capable hands of my in-house copy editor, who has already indicated in no uncertain terms that it still needs a lot of work.

I think you can understand why I haven’t posted a blog before now. So, if you’ll excuse me, I must go back to work. At the moment that involves someone hiking across the moors on a hot, sunny day. Quite a challenge, as I look out of the window at the falling snow.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

