Skip to content

Abroad Thoughts From Home

December 13, 2012

A comment from a reader at my recent book signing event for Byland Crescent, Book One, Requiem held at Waterstone’s in Bradford sparked off some research and the results are here. The reader asked if the book is available overseas. Given our location at the time, I thought it would be less than tactful to mention Amazon, so I assured the lady that to the best of my knowledge it would eventually be available on a variety of websites in several countries, but could not be sure which ones and when. Having made that bold (rash?) statement, I thought it wise to check my facts, and the results of my research both pleased and surprised me.

There are quite a number of sites in Australia that have Requiem available. This is natural, for the book is in English, and part of the action of the series is set in Australia. However, many of the other countries where it can be bought are far less obvious choices. They include almost all the Scandinavian countries, Norway, Sweden, Denmark and Finland in particular. I suppose the term ‘saga’ could be said to hold a natural appeal for Scandinavians, but I did wonder what some of the other nationalities might make of my tales of a family’s fluctuating fortunes over several generations.

What would someone from Croatia or Romania think of the story? They were just two of the more intriguing countries in a list that included Poland, Italy, Greece, India and Germany. It was then that I remembered how far-flung the action in Requiem is. The book covers events in Serbia, Austria, and Greece as well as on the battlefields of Europe during the First World War.

It will be interesting, if and when I get any feedback from readers should anyone comment from these countries. Because, as I’ve already stated, both in a previous post on this blog and elsewhere, it is the readers’ opinion that I value above all other.

One Comment
  1. ‘Requiem’ carries certain concepts accessible to readers of different languages: death, sorrow, remembrance, music, ceremonial. The benefit of a shared Latin inheritance?

Leave a Reply

