Skip to content

Revisiting my family history

November 26, 2012

As I type this I have a photo alongside me which hung on my father’s office wall for many years. It is a photograph of the members of the Bradford Wool Exchange taken on the trading floor at some point before 1953. The reason I know the date is because the man on the front row, sixth from the right, is my grandfather, who died in 1953. Somewhere towards the rear of the crowd of members is my father.

The Bradford Wool Exchange was the textile equivalent of the Stock Exchange, and features strongly in the Byland Crescent series. However, with the decline in the textile industry in the United Kingdom, the trading of wool on the Exchange ceased in the 1960s. When I go to Bradford on December 6th for a signing event for the first book, Requiem, I think it is highly appropriate that the hosts will be Waterstones, because their Bradford store is located in the old Wool Exchange building.

One Comment
  1. I really like it when folks come together and share ideas. Great site, stick with it.

Leave a Reply

